My Gluten-Free Black Bean Crackers/Chips

wp-1476387671087.jpeg

With Beanitos Bean Chips costing over $3.50 a bag,  I have been searching for a black bean chip or cracker recipe for the last two weeks. I had found one and posted it on Facebook and tried it out as well. Unfortunately it called for dry (raw)  black beans. Something kept telling me not to use the uncooked dry beans, but I used them anyway. I had stomach cramps most of the next day.  So, since I had  bought a big bag of beans, I cooked them up after soaking overnight of course. I then proceeded to come up with the following recipe which turned out well! It makes about as much as a bag of Beanitos, about 3-4 cups depending on how thin you make them.

1 3/4 cup cooked drained black beans (or 1 can drained)

1 Tablespoons Olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon Pyure or Truvia natural sweetener

1/2 cup Bob’s Gluten-Free 1-1 Flour Mix, and some extra for rolling out dough

Preheat oven to 375F degrees. I  mashed the beans in a medium-sized bowl with a potato masher. I then added the rest of the ingredients. Divide the dough in half. In 2 large baking sheet lined with parchment paper, I rolled out the dough with a pastry roller. I don’t recommend air-bake pans because the crackers won’t get crispy.   I also sprinkled the dough with flour as I rolled it out.  Roll out as thin as possible. Then sprinkle with more salt and roll lightly with pastry roller. Now use a pizza cutter and cut into desired size of crackers. Bake for about 5 minutes, move crackers around and turn them over, then check every couple of minutes. Keep moving crackers around from middle to edges to cook evenly. After 10 minutes,  the crackers will start browning quickly.  Remove the ones that are slightly browned and crisp (crakers will not bend when fully baked) and put in bowl. Repeat until all crackers are baked.

Leave a Reply

