Gluten-Free Oat Waffles

Makes about 12 ( 1/3 cup batter for each waffle)

In large bowl add:

2 large eggs, beaten

3 Tbsp. ground Flax Seed (I grind my own in a blender)

2 1/2 cups  water

1 teaspoon vanilla

5 Tbsp. melted butter

1 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon powdered stevia

1 Tbsp.  homemade corn-free baking powder

2 Tbsp. Tapioca Flour

Mix together with wire whisk and add:

1 1/4 cup oat flour

1 3/4 cup oat bran

The batter will thicken upon standing so if the batter is a bit thin, let it set for about 5 minutes.  Don’t be tempted to add more flour because believe it or not it will thicken quite a lot!   I use a 1/3 cup measuring cup to pour batter into waffle maker, no need to grease it.

We eat the waffles with lots of butter and my homemade sugar-free maple syrup.

I freeze the leftovers.  Cool on wire rack completely and wrap each waffle in wax paper and put them in a gallon zip-lock bag. I fold the used  wax paper sections and reuse next time.  I put frozen waffles in the toaster and they do brown up some and are a bit crunchy.  My husband loves his soft in the microwave on high for about 1 minute.

Leave a Reply

