Roasted Free-Range Chicken – the easy way!

This 1.5 pound free range chicken was roasted in the oven in a small turkey roaster for an 8 – 10 lb. turkey.  I smeared softened butter all over it and salted it first before baking at 375 degrees.

The instructions on the chicken package said to bake on a cookie sheet.  Well, whoever wrote those instructions was not in charge of kitchen clean-up!  I tried that and my whole oven was sprayed in chicken grease!  Needless to say, I spent the evening cleaning the oven, which needed it anyway, I guess.  Bummer!

The next time I baked a chicken I used this roaster and I was concerned that the chicken would not be golden brown.  To my delight, it cooked beautifully and was a nice golden brown with crispy skin!  The chicken package says to cook for 1 hour and 10minutes and that is what I did and the temp. of the chicken was 180 degrees, right on the money!  When I baked the chicken on the cookie sheet, I had to bake the chicken longer.

I know this is a very simple recipe, but it’s a big help to know the best way to cook any item without a lot of mess!  You would think I would know how to bake a chicken in my mid-life!  I used to always cook my whole chickens in the crock pot.  But, the website msgmyth.com which is listed on my important websites in the right column has opened my eyes to what cooking proteins for a long time can do.  FGA (free glutamic acid, or MSG) can be created as the protein cooks for a long period of time.

We had this baked chicken meal today, it’s so easy and delicious!

Baked Free-Range Chicken, with Organic Asparagus sauteed in garlic, organic EVOO and butter, and Mashed Organic Potatoes

“Sunday Chicken”

Put chicken in 375 F / 190 C for 20 minutes, turn oven down to 300 F / 150 C for 2 – 2 1/2 hours. Chicken is tender and meat falls off the bone!  We love to put in oven before church on Sunday and come home to a heavenly aroma!!!!!

I have a  “hot oven”  so I actually set the thermostat 25 degrees less at 350 F then to 275 F.

Leave a Reply

